What I Celebrate About Myself and How I Care for Myself #AutismPositivity2015

By Christy Walk

Trigger warnings: Christian ableism, denying of services of autistic people

I am an autistic adult and a solid Christian who has been hurt by the church because of ableism. The Christians with the ableistic attitude kept telling me, “You’re not autistic.” A long time ago on Facebook there was an ableistic Christian who told me that I wasn’t autistic. I kept convincing her/him that I was but she pressured me to read the Bible on self-healing. Nowhere in the Bible does it tell us to heal ourselves. One ableist Christian told me to “claim” my healing. I immediately went off the page and didn’t come back.

I love to read, write, draw and make stuff. Crafting and drawing are a lot of fun for me because it gives me something to do in the daytime, whether or not my mom is at work. I also like to go on Youtube to watch movies and videos. I also like to sing in my church choir. My choir teacher is really nice.

We autistics need to be loved and accepted because ableism is unacceptable anywhere. We don’t allow ableism anywhere because it’s nobody’s place to judge us. I have been through ableism when an ableist Christian told me to “claim” my healing, and she also told me that she would pray my autism off of me. As an autistic adult, I know what it’s like to be told, “You’re not autistic!” and other hateful, hurtful things. I want to celebrate my life as an autistic adult and enjoy it.

Not all autistics have cars to drive and have jobs. I am one of those that don’t. We as autistics are denied services, and we are discriminated against because of our disability. There are a lot of people who want to abandon us and not have to do anything with us. There are a lot of people who ignore us. Churches are the exact same way, ignoring us and stigmatizing us.

Sadly the world doesn’t get autism, or try to understand us. We are not spoiled. We are not selfish. We are not lazy. We are human beings just like everyone else. Hear our stories, read our blogs, get to know us. I like to sit all by myself when I am at a table. I don’t like sitting with other people. I also don’t like being told that I am supposed to come out of my shell. It makes me feel othered a lot of the time anyways. I’m not even in a shell. Please respect the way I live my life as an autistic adult. I also don’t appreciate being told to walk the same pace as other people. You need to realize that I am a human being, and I swear on a stack of Bibles, if you knew what my life was like as an autistic adult, hey, you would have agreed with me.

#AutismPositivity2015I eat healthy foods with my supper and my lunch. I usually eat healthy snacks in between meals. I take a shower every other day, and I brush my teeth sometimes. I try to find a way to brush my teeth every day and every night but this is not always the case for me. I usually do some other things besides brush my teeth and take a shower. If you would ask me how I take care of myself, what’s mentioned above is how it is for me. I don’t always do these things. I don’t always brush my hair, put deodorant on and wash my face like I should. It is very unlikely that I will always do it. If I don’t put deodorant on, please don’t tell me I smell like body odor. It’s rude and disrespectful. What is mentioned above is how I take care of myself.

Like I said, we autistics need love and acceptance, despite how we take care of ourselves.

 

Original Post: https://autisticreformedcalvinist.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Acceptance Love and Self-care, Autism Positivity 2015, Autism Positivity Flash Blog, Flash Blog Posts

Please Leave a Reply

