Quiet Please #AutismPositivity2014

By JD Scott  


I have an old self-portrait
That I made some years ago,
The last of several works of art
I’d stopped when feeling low.

 

See, sadness, pain and anger
Made me seek a doc or two,
Lo and behold, I soon found
My depression was a clue.

 

It turned out I’m autistic
With Asperger syndrome, gad!
It was a shock, but sure explained
Why I had felt so bad.

 

For being hypersensitive
And needing time alone,
For carrying out my loved routines
Or turning off my phone.

 

I wanted to retreat some place
That’s quiet, calm and slow,
The world was way too noisy
But what was I to know.

 

Well time has passed and I can say
I now appreciate,
What I perceive is based upon
The wiring in my pate.

 

JD Scott © 2013

@AnEndInItself

Listen for the Light (2010) by JD Scott

 

Published in Autism West Midland’s book, ‘Ultraviolet Voices: Stories of Women on the 2e0db-screen-shot-2014-04-21-at-6-45-04-pmAutism Spectrum’ (2014).

 


Leave a comment

Filed under Autism Positivity 2014, Autism Positivity Flash Blog, Expressions of PosAutivity, Flash Blog Posts

Please Leave a Reply

