My Beautiful, Naturally Autistic Family. Expressions of PosAutivity: #AutismPositivity2014

By Autistic Bird

Hello, and welcome to my blog: An Autistic Bird Sings for the AutismPositivity 2014 Flashblog event. This is the first time I’ve been a part of this event and I’m very happy to be able to contribute to it.

If you’ve been reading my blogs you know that I believe there are many positives to my being Autistic, as well as for my husband and son. We are a completely Autistic family. Yes, that’s right, every single one of us is on the Spectrum. We have a lot of fun together and we also love each other unconditionally. We help each other through our rough times. We compliment each other in many ways and celebrate our good times together as well. We support each other as a family. We are each others’ safety and security. That is what we work to provide for ourselves and one another. It’s not always easy. In fact, it’s hard work. Being a strong family unit takes hard work, I don’t care who you are. There are a lot of trials and errors as well as joys and successes. It’s part of life.

My husband is a software developer, which he enjoys greatly, and he’s really danged good at it too. I couldn’t do that kind of work if my life depended on it. I am not good with most technology. I know, that’s something a lot of NT folk think most people who are Autistic come by naturally. But trust me, it’s not in my nature. It is in my husband’s though. The man is great at math, programming, working Mensa puzzles… all those sorts of things. Me? Um… … not so much. He figures things out. That’s just what he does. He works things out. He is very methodical and incredibly patient. I don’t know how he can be so patient, but he is. And that’s what I need because I’m a bit of a compulsive person in some areas of life. He helps me get back to my center during those times I am having difficulty doing so. We compliment each other nicely…

Read the complete post here:  http://anautisticbirdsings.blogspot.ca/2014/04/my-beautiful-naturally-autistic-family.html

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Autism Positivity 2014, Autism Positivity Flash Blog, Expressions of PosAutivity

Please Leave a Reply

