Autistic Healers Expressions of PosAutivity: #AutismPositivity2014

By Kmarie 

2e0db-screen-shot-2014-04-21-at-6-45-04-pmIn the last week alone I have faced four different “Newsworthy” negative reports on Autism advertised as “breakthroughs, ” “understanding Autism,” or “valid research”, and each one has left me in tears because these reports are what the world listens to. But then I found a glimmer of hope in the Autism Positivity Flashblog and my Autistic community. We can be a voice. I can be a voice.

I have several friends, family members and people in my community who are Autistic. They are a diverse group of people with different needs, beliefs and temperaments…but the one aspect I often find my Autistic friend’s have in common are their healing personalities. The lie that Autistics are non empathetic or non communicative is exposed when I am around each of them. They are the people who children and animals flock to, whether they want them to or not due to sensory issues. My Autistic friends are often the people whom the outcasts of society, the abused and the down trodden go to for a listening ear, for compassion and because these people groups feel the Autistics are safe. Generally we are. It is very rare for an Autistic to not be safe, innocent and pure of heart. In the news we hear the horror stories but most often, there are other factors at work that should be exposed. The very stats speak for themselves; the number of Autistic people that commit crimes in the overall population of Autistics verses the number of Nuerotypical people that commit crimes in their overall population makes the issue stunningly clear. Autism does not create violence. Like in any population group, there will be issues but in general, the Aspies I know are trustworthy, kind and considerate.

I am an Aspie/ Autistic and I am 30. I have three children and am married to an NT. We have a happy life. Contrary to popular Autism propaganda we have had a happy 12 year marriage and while having children was hard for me at first, I now love being a mom. While it is true that I can not face meal time every day without my husband or support system nor drive in the city due to executive functioning issues, I also KNOW I give back to the world with my unique set of gifts. Without a doubt Autistics need more support because the current culture is not set up for us. Instead of people fighting Autism we need them to fight Ignorance and stigma. 

There are many parents and practitioners who claim they are reversing autism in children.  They are not “reversing” the way the brain is wired…what is actually happening from the perspectives of Autistics is that they are helping deal with sensory onslaught or other symptoms of Autism that interfere with social interactions and minimizing them. For example, many Autistics have a leaky gut so going off of gluten really helps them think clearer to deal with sensory onslaught of the loud culture we live in, but our actual brain wiring is still unique and different. Cognitive therapy also helps re wire some anxiety that we experience due to being “differently wired” and can aid us in being thought of as more “normal” but we are still Autistic. Just with less “symptoms.” Technically these claims of reversals are actually just improving assimilation, which is fine in some cases but it needs to actually be addressed as it is, and it actually is an ethical conundrum that needs serious consideration. Many Autistic adults who can speak for themselves will tell you this. My son does not seem very Autistic on the outset, because we have worked with him since age 3 on eye contact and anxiety so he is less bullied, but he still works from a different mind theory than an NT. 

I may not fit into society the way it wants me to but I still am valuable and live a worthy life. I feel that if we get too genetically focused on Autism and too focused on “eradicating Autism”, this issue will become quite akin to what Hitler wanted to achieve. Let’s not go there. Diversity is the spice of life, we can help disabling features while still respecting the core…

Read the rest of this post at:http://worldwecreate.blogspot.ca/2014/04/autistic-healers.html

2 Comments

Filed under Autism Positivity 2014, Autism Positivity Flash Blog, Expressions of PosAutivity, Flash Blog Posts

2 responses to “Autistic Healers Expressions of PosAutivity: #AutismPositivity2014

  1. You had me completely from the beginning of these first few sentences where you talked about news because the news seems so gun-ho on the medical model of autism, rather than as a unique group of people who like many ethnic, religious, and sexual minorities, women, and other disabled groups have fought valiantly for their rights. The truth comes slowly to the world but I feel for whenever people do help the autism community, we do give back. We have taught others about leadership, empathy, teamwork, contributed thinkers such as Thomas Jefferson, Albert Einstein, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, all because these people were about to be unique. We are often dedicated employees and have been able to identify with others in the world who have struggled for their rights. Our contribution to this world has been gifted by our unique way of being and the world is continually blessed with that. Ignorance of this fact is too much, as you mentioned, akin to Adolf Hitler’s refusal to value the endless contribution of Germany’s Jewish community, and reminds me a great deal of “the brain drain” that resulted in the Soviet Union as a result of Stalin’s purge of intellectuals. I am relieved, for my own reasons, to hear you have had a long-standing relationship with a neurotypical, and I believe this concept of “autism healers” may soon be the beginning of some new fortune for the autism community and the world at large.

  2. Thanks. I was just browsing through the 2015 posts and was shocked to find my post….and I saw your comment. My husband is neurotypical and we have a pretty great relationship…He values the way I am and often is inspired by me as I am by him. I love all of your points in this comment and the examples you give are excellent.
    Also I noticed the link is faulty for the rest of the post found here:
    http://worldwecreate.blogspot.ca/2014/04/autistic-healers-expressions-of.html

Please Leave a Reply

