AutAc Expressions of PosAutivity: #AutismPositivity2014

By Dani Alexis

It’s Autism Positivity Day 2014, which seems to me the ideal day for launching this blog.

This project started in a battered spiral notebook I keep next to my bed.  When I started writing, I wasn’t sure I wanted to blog something as intensely personal as an autobiography.  And I’m still not sure.

But there is something wonderfully positive and affirming about writing, specifically, about my autism.  I’m not alone in this; by writing about my autism, I join a community of writers and bloggers of which I’m proud to be a part.

There’s also something wonderfully affirming about autobiography, or memoir, or life writing.  This is particularly true when one is autistic.  It is a persistent irony that so many researchers of autism – themselves neurotypical – continue to believe simultaneously that autistic people are fatally self-absorbed and that autistic people are incapable of writing meaningfully about their own lives…

Read this post in its entirety at: http://autisticacademic.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/autac-expressions-of-posautivity-autismpositivity2014/

AutismPositivity2014button.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Autism Positivity 2014, Autism Positivity Flash Blog, Expressions of PosAutivity, Flash Blog Posts

Please Leave a Reply

