Angela Lidder celebrates 1000 Ausome Things: My Inspiration and My Best Teacher #AutismPositivity2013

My Inspiration and My Best Teacher
Angela Lidder

A bundle of love, four years old,
In love with life, brave and bold,
Complex, bright, beautiful, autistic,
Loving, gentle, totally fantastic,
Celebrating all that’s good.

The pattern on a piece of bark,
The multi-coloured rainbow arc,
Veins on leaves, towering clouds,
The colours in surging crowds,
Explored by an extraordinary mind.

And because of you
I see it too.

Film songs and familiar tunes,
The clack of different types of spoons,
The lion’s roar and hyena’s laugh,
A little bird’s almost silent chaff,
Explored by an extraordinary mind.

And because of you
I hear it too.

A chunk of fresh, crusty bread,
Without adornment or any spread,
A shallow bowl of fluffy rice,
By itself is just so nice.
Explored by an extraordinary mind.

And because of you
I taste it too.

The soft, warm fur of a sleeping cat,
The bouncy texture of a playzone mat,
Fingers trailing in running water,
Bubbles bursting causing laughter.
Explored by an extraordinary mind.

And because of you
I feel it too.

A simple walk around the park,
The threatening glide of a tiger shark,
Anticipation of a cinema trip,
Satisfaction at a paper rip,
Explored by an extraordinary mind.

And because of you
I enjoy it too.

Autism gone is not my wish for you,
For that would be a destructive view,
My wish a world more like you,
Loving, beautiful, strong and true,
For all, for us, for you.

A bundle of love, four years old,
In love with life, brave and bold,
Complex, bright, beautiful, autistic,
Loving, gentle, totally fantastic,
My inspiration and my best teacher.

1 Comment

Filed under 1000 Ausome Things

One response to “Angela Lidder celebrates 1000 Ausome Things: My Inspiration and My Best Teacher #AutismPositivity2013

  1. Mrs Chan

    Beautiful. Here’s to all our teachers on all parts of the spectrum, young and old, around the world.

Please Leave a Reply

