Tamera to “I Wish I didn’t have Asperger’s” #AutismPositivity2012

My son is 10 yrs old. I have heard him say those words so many times. I think because people outside and inside his family do not understand how very gifted he is. He has been teased,pushed around, and bullied since entering school. He is now in an ABA school and doing great. He has meet peers and adults who are on the spectrum, some higher some lower functioning. He has learned he is not so different than everyone else. We are all unique, all special, and everyone that walks this earth has special needs. My son Derek is my hero. He hates leaving home, but everyday he walks out the front door to go to school. He also went on a vacation this spring, the first in 5 years. He is the bravest person I have ever meet. I haven’t heard he say those words ” I wish I didn’t have Aspergers ” for a few months now. He has real friends for the first time in his life. He can also talk to his peers about Aspergers, ADHD, etc. and not be laughed at, and really understood. To anyone out there that might real this and wish that they didn’t have autism or some other special need. I pray that someone out there will reach out and let them really know how very special and talented they are. They were created special by God just as they are. They should love and embrace who they are.

Tamera Oshiro

Leave a comment

Filed under Flash Blog Posts

Please Leave a Reply

