Shelly to “I Wish I didn’t have Asperger’s” #AutismPositivity2012

 

My son is four years old and has autism. He has taught me what love really is. He has taught me patience, empathy, kindness, and selflessness. Autistic people are not judgmental, they rarely lie, and they view the world through logical eyes. Without autistic people we wouldn’t have engineers, scientists, and safety protocol experts. Autistic traits are needed for our society to function. I understand that having autism can be difficult in a world of neurotypicals, but many people are working very hard to spread autism awareness and to teach others to be more mindful of those who have autism. Very soon in the near future everyone will know what autism is and it will no longer matter what the “norm” is. There doesn’t need to be a “norm.” We all just need to be accepting of each other.

4 Comments

Filed under Flash Blog Posts

4 responses to “Shelly to “I Wish I didn’t have Asperger’s” #AutismPositivity2012

  1. Pingback: Shelly to “I Wish I didn’t have Asperger’s” #AutismPositivity2012 « Neurodiversity Coaching

  2. Pingback: Staying Positive | Life with an Autistic Son

  3. Pingback: Pharaoh’s Article #2 For Summer Internship: 2012 Georgia Walk Now For Autism Speaks | Timotheus "Pharaoh" Gordon

  4. Pingback: Pharaoh’s Article #2 For Summer Internship: 2012 Georgia Walk Now For Autism Speaks « Abilities of the Arts

Please Leave a Reply

